Gregg E. Maryniak

Gregg E. Maryniak

Chair, Singularity University, Space, Energy, & Environmental Systems; Co-Founder & Secretary, XPRIZE

Gregg Maryniak is the Co-Founder of the XPRIZE Foundation and its original Executive Director. He is the Foundation’s Corporate Secretary and member of the Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees.

Maryniak is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He received Russia’s Tsiolkovsky Medal for his work on the energy and material resources of space and the Space Frontier Foundation’s Vision to Reality Award for starting the Lunar Prospector Team which discovered billions of tons of water ice and other frozen volatiles at the Moon’s North and South poles. He has testified on energy and space technology before the United States Congress and the President’s National Commission on Space.

He was Chief Executive Officer of the Space Studies Institute of Princeton, Senior Scientist of the Futron Corporation, Vice President of the St. Louis Science Center and Director of the James S. McDonnell Planetarium. An Associate Founder of the International Space University, he served as a member of the Board and a Managing Director of the University as well as a department chair teaching such subjects as orbital mechanics, robotics and space resource utilization. 

He served on the Director’s Council of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography and is the Vice Chairman of the Lindbergh Foundation. He co-chairs the Space and Energy tracks at Singularity University. 

His book, Fearless Experiments with Microcomputers, which introduces adults and youth to the exponential technology of microprocessors, was published in 2017.